From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

Welcome to Korea!!! ^^

3 Comments

Hello, everybody! I miss you all… I’m starting to miss the Philippines, my home, my family (especially Mom) and friends. It’s cold out here (and it rained a while ago, so now it’s even colder)… I’m trying to get rid of my cough and cold. It’s funny… I feel like a child being chased and forced to take my medicine……………… (by my husband)  ha ha!

Everyone here is pleasant… my new family and my husband’s friends. Korean culture doesn’t surprise nor scare me. FYI: Not everything CFO warns us about in the seminar is true.

One of my husband’s friends, Sung Dae, came to Incheon Airport to pick us up. My husband and I were warmly welcomed by his family. My two ajubonims (my husband’s older brothers) were waiting for us outside the house. Hyeongnim (eldest ajubonim’s wife) was there, too, followed by Omonim (mother-in-law), who gave me a hug when she saw me. Inside, there was Abonim (father-in-law). He was standing by the door to welcome us home. We had a wonderful dinner together… and though I can speak just little Korean, an interesting conversation ensued. What a BIG help sign and body language can make (of course, coupled with basic Korean words and my husband as my official interpreter)! k k k ^^ After dinner, my husband and I gave out our “pasalubong”. I’m glad they liked them all.

I thought I was going to work in the kitchen with Omonim on my first day in the house… but I wasn’t allowed to do anything… not even to wash or tidy up the dishes. I was told to take a rest or watch TV while eating oranges and pears. I felt guilty leaving all the work to hyeongnim and Omonim while I was perched on the sofa eating fruits… but well~~ I had to obey, right? Ha ha!

On the way to Janghyeon, my husband’s hometown, I was thinking of the special people I left back home. I know I am going to miss my family and friends everyday… but from the moment I got off the plane with my husband, I realized that my new life has begun… my new life as a wife… as a daughter-in-law and sister-in-law… as a foreigner in a country I have been to before, but never really tried adapting to.

I wonder how this new life will turn out to be… ^^

3 thoughts on “Welcome to Korea!!! ^^

  1. The following suggestions are straightforward to spice up your term Metabolism alludes to
    an association of artificial responses that change
    the sustenance we eat into vitality that provides us
    some assistance with doing anything.

    Like

  2. At the time there was nothing with that caliber of sound high quality on the market so
    he determined to have a go at it himself.

    Like

  3. excellent publish, very informative. I wonder why the opposite experts of this sector don’t understand this. You must continue your writing. I’m sure, you have a great readers’ base already!

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

