From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

Divorce

4 Comments

“Life is not perfect.” I remember telling my husband one time. “Relationships aren’t perfect either.”

I have always been the pessimistic one, and everyone who knows me well knows it.

“We’ll try to make it perfect.” That’s what my husband said.

You see, he is not like me. He’s quite optimistic. In fact, he doesn’t even want me to mention the word “divorce” when we talk about relationships “in general” or marital problems (not ours). I remember telling him how prevalent divorce has become in the society and it’s something that I don’t condone. Surprised, he asked “How can you say that? Why are you so negative?” Then he gave me that long stern look.

I thought that he would be more open-minded about the whole idea of divorce since he comes from a country where divorce is legal, but I was wrong.

“You know what, I never wanted to hear that word (divorce) from you, but you said it.” He sounded serious.

I guess it wasn’t a good topic to talk about with someone as optimistic as my husband. “We are not going to have divorce. We are just talking about it.”

“You know, when you say something, it happens.” He added.

“No, it won’t.” I held his hand and looked at him, “You know why?”

He didn’t reply, so I asked again. “You know why?”

“Why?”

“Because we love each other so much.”

There was nothing more to say… just that and the talk about divorce between a pessimistic wife and an optimistic husband ended that night.

4 thoughts on “Divorce

  1. Producing methane from manure using your individual small scale waste to power biogas digester is feasible for a lot of small farms.

    Like

  2. Ha, ha! ^^

    I never used divorce as a threat to my husband every time we were arguing… but I would tell him sometimes that I would go to the Philippines and stay there for a year or two, and if that happens I’m sure that he would miss me terribly. That one works all the time… but I think it’s very childish of me to use “threat” instead of patching things up with him. Now when we argue, we try to work things out right away. ^^

    Like

  3. I remember when I used to scare my husband whenever we are having a huge fight, “I want a divorce! I hate you!” and he will immidiately say sorry or he would tease me eventhough it is my fault.

    But things changes and maybe he also get used to me saying and cursing to him that I want a divorce. So these days, whenever I say “I want a divorce! ” he would immidiately say “I have been wanting to hear that from you.. I will get the divorce papers tomorrow.”

    then, I would be the one now to apologize and tease him. Hehehe

    Like

  4. In this great pattern of things you receive an A+ for effort and hard work. Exactly where you confused me was first in your details. You know, they say, the devil is in the details… And that couldn’t be more accurate right here. Having said that, permit me say to you exactly what did give good results. The text is actually very convincing and this is probably why I am taking an effort in order to opine. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. Second, although I can certainly notice the leaps in reason you come up with, I am definitely not convinced of just how you seem to unite the details which in turn produce the actual conclusion. For now I shall subscribe to your point but trust in the future you link your facts better.

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

