From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

Celebrating Love in Korea

5 Comments

 
“You’re my rainbow, you’re my star, you’re my bright red cookie jar. You’re my goldfish, you’re my pie, you’re the apple of my eye. You’re my daisy, you’re my vine, you’re my own true Valentine!”

Valentine’s day is just a few days away. If I were in the Philippines, it would have been more exciting to wait for a “surprise” from my husband, but since we are in Korea, I should be the one to  “surprise” him on the day of hearts.

In Korea, February 14th is also a day for couples, but it is the ladies who give chocolates to their boyfriends, sweethearts or “crushes”. Last year, I was the one who gave my husband treats which I ended up eating anyway. =) This year, I’m thinking of giving him a heart-shaped ice cream cake from Baskin Robbins.

Chocolates beautifully wrapped or boxed abound in candy shops and stores in Korea days before V~Day, but I wanted to give hubby his favorite chocolates… so I made my own set for him. ^^

I’ve checked the price of this Baskin Robbins ice cream cake online. It’s 23, 000 Won (Around 20 Dollars or 868 Pesos). It would be a great gift for your loved one this V~Day. ^^

On March 14th, it is the men’s turn to give chocolates or candies to the special women in their lives. Some of them also give flowers. If the girl is  lucky enough,  her beau might just choose this day to propose or confess his love for her, that’s why many younger women in Korea anticipate the coming of White Day.

Last year, my husband gave me my favorite chocolates, picked me up from work and took me to dinner. We’re not too old for this kind of celebration after all. ^^

Chocolates make a woman’s heart melt. ^^

In Korea, there is also a day for those who are not “in a relationship”. Koreans came up with a day for “single people“, which they call Black Day. On April 14th, they eat jajangmyeon (자장면), noodles with black bean sauce, with their single friends to celebrate singlehood.

5 thoughts on “Celebrating Love in Korea

  1. Pingback: Pepero Day « From Korea with Love

  2. I like starting my essay or post with a quote, especially if it’s about love. Quotes are great motivators. =)

    Like

  3. Conceptual presentations of love basically are too impressive.
    I love quotations that refer to love as they quite simply
    appear to aim for inherent fancies inside many of
    us extremely competently. It’s sort of unusual how as soon as I check out a love quotations I get overpowered with feeling, especially the depressed varieties. Love and peace!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Cheesecake Day « From Korea with Love

  5. Pingback: Why I Will Never Succeed on My Diet « From Korea with Love

Tell me what you think... ^^

