From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

Lucky Dollar

4 Comments

 

I am a very forgetful person. My mom used to say, if I didn’t have my underwear on and had to carry it with me, I’d always forget it and end up naked down there.

One time in my class, I was looking for my pen and asked my students if one of them saw it only to be told that it was hanging from my ID lace.

Sometimes my husband tells me that we have a birthday party or formal gathering to attend, and when that day comes, I blame him for not mentioning it earlier, so I could have prepared a gift and a lovely dress to wear.

A few days ago, I was getting rid of all the reminders scribbled in post-its and some old notes in my bag when I found a folded envelope in my Bible. I was going to throw the envelope, but good thing I checked first if it was empty, or else I would have thrown away a hundred-dollar bill! I must have kept the money there when we went to the Philippines. My husband and I each keep our own “emergency money” every time we travel. I forgot I still have mine. When I told him about it. He said, “See? I told you.” Last month, I needed dollars for my NBI clearance. He said I have a hundred bucks left from our vacation, but I insisted that I have spent all my dollars.  (If ever you’re paying for a document in the Philippine Embassy in Korea, I suggest you pay in dollars. The fee is more expensive in won.)

 

When I was a little girl, I was told that if you find a penny on the ground, pick it up, and it will bring you good luck. I had spent many afternoons looking for that lucky penny, but I never found a real one. I didn’t realize it then, but my Dad used to throw coins outside when I wasn’t looking, and he’d tell me to keep searching for that lucky penny. Of course, of all the coins he threw, I’d end up finding one or two. They weren’t “the real ones”, but they made me believe that luck exists. In a child’s perspective, it’s luck, but in a grown up’s world, it’s HOPE.

I found that hundred-dollar bill days after my husband and I had a long talk about our finances. Sometimes we get stressed with all the bills we have to pay. We never lack anything, but every man’s wish is to be wealthy, right?

If I haven’t checked that envelope, I wouldn’t even know there was money in it. I’d just throw it and the money will go to waste. Now that I have found it, I will have to spend it, too, and it will be gone in no time. I was lucky to find a hundred-dollar bill, but luckier to be reminded of how fleeting “material things” are. You may forget where you put your pen, when someone’s birthday is, or what appointment you have next week, but some things in life, those of great importance, are easily remembered even when you don’t write them on a post-it or a piece of paper to remind you.

4 thoughts on “Lucky Dollar

  1. Hello – I must say, I’m impressed with your site. I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs and information was very easy to access. I found what I wanted in no time at all. Pretty awesome. Would appreciate it if you add forums or something, it would be a perfect way for your clients to interact. Great job

    Like

  2. Thanks, Brook. =) God bless you. ^^

    Like

  3. Wonderful blog! Very colorful and full of heart:) The story about your dad throwing out the coins for you to find is so uplifting. What a thoughtful, loving dad. His daughter is like him:)

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

