From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

White Day

2 Comments

March 14th, 2012. White Day. The day when men in Korea give candies (or chocolates) to the special women in their lives.

At work, I had a sudden craving for cheesecake, so I sent my husband a text message to give him a hint on what I really wanted to eat for dinner, which is officially a dessert.  He replied, but his message made me upset. He said he was just kidding, but my growling stomach would not take the joke.

“Don’t buy me anymore!”, I said, and went back to class after my coffee break.

It was a rough day. Ugh, how I hate Thursdays! Six classes straight, except the 10-minute coffee break, and the most unruly boys all in one class. (Thank God, it’s the last class.)

At 8:20, feeling drained of energy and my hungry stomach starting to eat my intestines, I sit and sigh and fill my mind with the thought of that scrumptious cheesecake waiting for me on the dinner table… but I (sarcastically) told him not to buy, and I know how obedient my husband is to me.

Then my cellphone beeped…

Cheesecake! Cheesecake! Cheesecake! Screw it! Who wants cheesecake when you’ve got a husband CHEESY enough to tell you that he loves you?

I came out of the hagwon smiling like a Cheshire cat. The night was young and I couldn’t wait to spend the rest of it with my husband.

The moment I got off the bus, he called to say he wasn’t home. He was drinking in a hoff with chagun ajubonim (youngest brother-in-law) and a friend. (This is quite normal among men in Korea. They dine and drink with male family members or their friends late at night every once in a while to relieve stress.)

I knew what he wanted. I know my husband very well. He wanted me to meet him in the hoff, but I was tired… and disappointed that he’d rather drink than have a White Day date with me.  T.T

I stayed in the house, took a nap and dreamt about punching him in the face.

He came home a little earlier than I expected… and he came with “bodyguards”. I fixed them coffee. When they were done drinking, my husband would not let chagun ajubonim and Chan (our friend) leave. He knew what I was going to do. My husband knows me well. I was going to skin him alive with my nagging.

Alas! The bodyguards left.

(I was going to save the nagging the next day.) Just when “silent torture” seemed to be working well,  he took something from the fridge and said: “Yobo, I have something for you.” I pretended not to hear. He said it again.

I turned to look at him. He was a bit drunk, and when he’s drunk he’s at his sweetest. He must have winked a dozen times as he said: “Happy White Day! You think I forgot?”

I laughed. He laughed.

And there it was! My cheesecake! ^^

There was a bottle of sweet wine, as well as my favorite chocolate.

But the best White Day treat was and will always be my husband, who, despite my MANY demands  and  mood changes (worse than what a woman with PMS has), loves me unequivocally.

2 thoughts on “White Day

  1. Thanks, Liza. He’s lucky to have me, too. Ha, ha! =)

    Like

  2. you’re lucky with ur hubby^^

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

