From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

TESCO’s Light Ice cream

2 Comments

Every once in a while, I have cravings for ice cream. Good thing Baskin Robbins is just a few blocks away from our apartment. The bad news? I have gained 5 kg (11 lbs) since I came to Korea in 2010. I’ve tried several so-called “healthy” diets to trim down a few kilograms, but darn it, I just love ice cream soooooo much! T.T Well, ice cream is just one of the reasons why I will never succeed on my diet, but because I’m taking some meds that, according to the doctor, might make me fat, I’m trying to cut calories from eating too much dessert and snacks.

If you happen to be an ice cream lover like me, you don’t have to give up ice cream… totally. You just eat it in moderation… half cup serving, not a whole pint! Also, choose ice cream that is lower in sugar (15 grams or less), and has less calories and fat content (120-130 calories or less under 5 grams of saturated fat and low in cholesterol). Look for the label that says LIGHT ICE CREAM. I’ve been looking for Dreyer’s Edy’s Slow Churned here in Korea, but haven’t found it being sold in either Homeplus or E-mart. (If you know where I can buy it here in SK, puh-lease… let me know.^^)

My husband and I found this light ice cream from TESCO. It’s usually on sale in Homeplus. It’s low in sugar, calories and fats and it’s also labelled as suitable for VEGANS. I’m not a vegetarian nor do I have the desire to be one, but TESCO’s light ice cream for vegans will do. The taste isn’t bad. My favorite flavors are “cherrylicious” (120 calories per 1/4 cup or 55 g serving) and “caramella” (125 calories  per 1/4 cup or 55 g serving). Caramella tastes  like McDonald’s hot caramel sundae. ^^

My husband is crazy about chocolate, so he likes “chocolatino” (120 calories per 1/4 cup or 55 g serving).

Besides our personal faves, there are other “interesting” flavors to choose from, but I suggest you leave vanilla in the freezer. There’s nothing special about the vanilla light ice cream. It’s good for making smoothies though. (Some flavors may not be available in Korea.)

The next time you do your shopping in Homeplus, why not give Tesco light ice cream a try? SALE PRICE: 6, 900 KRW for two (258 PHP or 6.04 USD)

FYI: They’re still on sale. ^^

2 thoughts on “TESCO’s Light Ice cream

  1. Here in SK, there are soooo many ice cream flavors that we don’t have in the Philippines… green tea, corn, sweet potato, watermelon… so when I go to the grocery store or ice cream parlor, I just can’t help myself. ^^

    Like

  2. Love chocolate and orange! Have not found that here in the US as an ice cream flavor.

    Will we ever stop feeling guilty about our love of good food? You are not alone! As the late singer Janis Joplin (before your time:) wrote sometimes: Sigh.

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

