From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

Parents’ Day in SK

10 Comments

Tomorrow is Parents’ Day in South Korea. May 8 was originally Mother’s Day in SK, but after some time, it has been called Parents’ Day, so that fathers can also be thanked and honored.

Although Parents’ Day is not a national holiday like Children’s Day which is celebrated in the same month, Koreans consider 어버이 날 a very special day.

In schools, children make cards and paper flowers to give to their parents.

Teenagers and adults buy carnations or roses. Some of them take their parents out for dinner or shopping. Some give presents or money.

Today, I went out to look for a gift for my 시부모님 (parents-in-law) and found a lot of beautiful carnation bouquets being sold on the streets and in various shops in Janghyeon.

Last year, I made paper carnation boutonnieres for my parents-in-law and pinned them on their shirts as symbol of respect and gratitude. They wore their carnations to work, and when they came home, the carnations were still on their shirts. ^^

Handmade carnations (Aren’t they pretty? ^^)

Today I bought fresh carnation boutonnieres, and I’m trying to convince my husband to do “the pinning” tomorrow morning.  (I think his parents would be more delighted if he did it this time.^^)

To all moms and dads and parents-to-be… HAPPY PARENTS’ DAY!

 

Related articles

10 thoughts on “Parents’ Day in SK

  1. You don’t have to follow his culture, you just choose to do so because that’s what you feel is the right thing to do.
    My boyfriend and I feel something else is the right thing to do.

    Like

  2. Me too, but since I have married a Korean and I now live here in SK, I have to follow my husband’s culture. =(

    It isn’t so bad, though. ^^

    Like

  3. I come from different type of culture.

    Like

  4. It’s more of a duty. If you marry a Korean man, it will be your duty to please your in-laws all the time. =)

    Like

  5. You are very thoughtful to your parents-in-law🙂

    Like

  6. Happy parents’ day! ^^

    Like

  7. Lovely handmade flowers……..HAPPY PARENTS DAY TO ALL AND YOU AS WELL!

    Like

  8. Ha ha ha! Natawa naman ako dun, Deym. ^^ I also asked my husband what proper greeting to tell his parents on Parents’ Day, he said they don’t really have a greeting like HAPPY PARENTS’ DAY. However, you can say: “Gomapsumnida”, “Sarang hamnida” or “Gun gang haseyo”.

    Like

  9. I asked my hubs Aj how do you say “Happy Parents Day” in Korean? He said “We dont greet, we just give money.” I said “huh?! I dont have money!”

    he said “then shut up. Dont greet”

    then I was like, huh???😛

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

