From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

My Sanctuary in Korea

3 Comments

I’ve finally found my sanctuary in Korea.

When I was in the Philippines, I used to go to a monastery in my hometown in Angeles City. Carmelite Monastery has been my sanctuary since I was young. I fell in love with the serenity of the place when I first visited it with my classmates and my teacher on our high school class retreat. I used to visit it every Saturday or Sunday. I didn’t usually hear Holy Mass. I would go there to pray. I am not a pious Catholic, but I find solace in talking to “my God” through prayer.

When I came to Korea, one of the first things I did was to look for a church or a chapel near our area, that I could visit every weekend. Thank God, I found this church which is just a few walks away from our apartment. ^^

I used to go to church with my Omonim, but since I couldn’t understand most of what the pastor said, (Of course, he would be preaching in Korean.) I stopped attending church with her. Besides, I didn’t like waking up at 6 in the morning every Sunday.
I go to Jinjeop Catholic Church every Saturday, not to hear Holy Mass, but to simply PRAY. The church somewhat reminds me of Carmelite Monastery. It is quite peaceful, a perfect place to pray in solitude.

The church has just been remodeled. The facade is still a work in progress, I suppose.

Just like in Carmelite Monastery, you can light a candle outside Jinjeop Catholic Church. They don’t have notes and that little box where you can drop your prayer petitions, though… but there is a prie-dieu you can kneel on as you make your prayer request.

Have a blessed Sunday, everyone. ^^

I hope you have found your sanctuary, too. ^^

3 thoughts on “My Sanctuary in Korea

  1. Pingback: Quiapo « From Korea with Love

  2. Thank you, Ms. Brook. God bless you. ^^

    Like

  3. So peaceful and beautiful. *Thank you*.

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

