From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

My Husband’s Serenade

10 Comments

1Last night, my husband tortured me with his ridiculous singing.

KHAN: Na na na na na
ME: Honey, if you’re only going to sing nanana, I think you’d better sleep.
KHAN: I’m singing our family song.

My husband’s family name is “Na”, sometimes pronounced as “Ra” in Korean.

When he got tired of our “family song”, he belted out:

KHAN: (to the tune of “The Finger Family”) Mr. Handsome, Mr. Handsome, where are you? (pointing to himself) Here I am, here I am…
ME: Honey, do you really think you’re handsome?
KHAN: Yes, everybody tells me.
ME: You are so…
KHAN: Boastful
ME: Yes, to the nth degree! Can we sleep now?
KHAN: Wait, I have a song for you.
ME: It’d better be good.

He moved towards me and gently touched my cheek.

KHAN: You are so beautiful to me… you are so beautiful to me…

I’ve always imagined my husband singing that to me on our wedding day, but the man I married can’t carry a tune. Last night, though, he sang it with all his heart. He couldn’t remember all the lyrics, but he kept singing the only line he knows: “You are so beautiful to me…”

Under the pallid moonlight coming through our window, I listened to my husband’s sweet singing. As our arms entwined, I sang the rest of the song with him:

“You’re everything I hope for… you’re everything I need… You are so beautiful to me.”

When one has once fully entered the realm of love, the world – no matter how imperfect – becomes rich and beautiful, it consists solely of opportunities for love. ~~~ Soren Kierkegaard (1813 – 1855)

10 thoughts on “My Husband’s Serenade

  1. I am sure that the right one for you is just around the corner. I used to be melancholic when I was single. Most of my friends had successful relationships and I didn’t have somebody special. Unexpectedly, I met my husband… and before we got married, we had gone through a lot… as in a lot of challenges… but because we are meant for each other, we were able to surpass all those challenges and found a way to be together for good. There is always somebody special for someone. You don’t even have to wait… it’s either he will find you or you will find him when you least expect it. =)

    Like

  2. this blog made me cry😦 i feel the LOVE i wonder why where can i find mine? im a single mother and hoping for the right one like yours🙂 a

    Like

  3. Thank you, Poypoy. ^^☆

    Like

  4. I love reading you stories about your husband. Hahaha. The two of you are sweet.

    Like

  5. Thank you, Ms. Brook. You are a beautiful person, too, and how I hope we could meet.

    Like

  6. Chris…this is so beautiful!!! *You* are so beautiful and what a *beautiful husband* you describe. *Thank you* for the post and song about love.

    Like

  7. waaaaaa…… im so jealous!!!!!!! hmmmmmmm i missed my korean ex bf… huhuhu

    Like

  8. Pingback: Wedding Tune #1 | Lady K

  9. Thank you, Cher. How have you been? ^^

    Like

  10. That was so cute…kkk

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

