From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

What Korean Dramas Have in Common

5 Comments

My  blog has been dormant for days, but it’s not because I am preoccupied with other things. We have a guest staying in our computer room and I can’t use the computer… argh! When I’m done with all the house chores, I usually stay on the computer, but for the past couple of days, I have been stuck in my room, watching downloaded movies or random Youtube videos on my tab. This is how I came upon this fascinating  video called HOW TO MAKE A KOREAN DRAMA, made by a group called “The Ming Thing”.

The 5-minute video shows the common plot of a romantic 한국드라아 (Korean dramas or K-dramas). If you are a K-drama fanatic, you know how the story goes. Rich guy unexpectedly meets ordinary girl. They keep bumping into each other. They bicker all the time. First, they hate each other, and suddenly, they fall in love. Either one of them is loved by somebody else, but that love is often unrequited. Just as rich guy and ordinary girl’s love for each other deepens, for some reason, they have to break up or part ways. Most often, it’s the rich guy’s parents who cause the break up. One of the couple gets sick, or worse, is diagnosed with a terminal illness.

Contrary to what my husband says, (that men don’t cry) I noticed that the men in most Korean dramas I’ve seen cried more than the women. Oh well, it’s drama, so there’s got to be endless crying. Some scenes might show the hero or the heroine drinking soju out of despair while tears are rolling down his or her face.

One of the characters either dies or makes an ultimate sacrifice. Another sad event in the story which should happen to bring the couple back together… but just as things are going well with the couple, one of them has to leave. Then there’s always that overly cheesy scene when the one being left behind says “Don’t go!”, and the one leaving pauses without turning to look behind him or her. The drama ends with the famous Korean back hug or a lame, steady kiss on the lips.

Not all Korean dramas share the same plot, of course, but they do follow a pattern, a series of intense, unrealistic events, which nevertheless captures human emotion.

 

5 thoughts on “What Korean Dramas Have in Common

  1. This blog is nice. it reminds me not to expect that kind of cheesy situations in real life. And I agree with you, with all the kdramas ive watched, those plots will always be present in the story:) thanks

    Like

  2. I love korean dramas especially that I am like living in one! my husband does everything cheesy to me! Kneeling in front of many people and saying I Love You, kneeling ang tying my shoes, those piggybacks when my feet hurts from killer heels, grabbing my hand and pulling me back to him just as I was about to leave, breakfast in bed, giving me his jacket, kissing in the rain, sleeping by the shore and enjoying the breeze, and many more. I keep falling in love with my husband again and again

    Like

  3. BTW, I grew up watching Hispanic novelas. There was a time when they were very popular in my country. After the reign of Hispanic novelas, Japanese animation were the trend, followed by Taiwanese romantic dramas, and finally, Koreanovelas (K-dramas). ^^

    Like

  4. You’re right. Korean dramas are not too lengthy, so you won’t get tired waiting for the resolution, and they don’t have a lot of confusing characters.

    Like

  5. Hey I love k dramas. They are great way to relax. they can be over the top, but for me it is a way to relax. And if you ask me mostly all entertainment follows the same pattern. For example, I watched a lot of Hispanic novelas. Most of them last longer than kdramas and all of them also follow the same story line…. The great thing about kdramas they are not 100 episodes long! But at the end when they day was very stressful, over the top kdrama is a great way to relax and forget about every day problems!

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

