From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

Citron-flavored Soju, Anyone?

6 Comments

I just found out last week that we are going to have 회식 (hwesik) before summer break, and I am kind of nervous about it. Hwesik is when colleagues dine and drink together, more like an after-work party. I looove parties, but hwesik is something that I don’t look forward to for one simple reason: I don’t like feeling pressured to drink. Sure, I can refuse when offered soju, but I don’t want to be a party pooper or be deemed rude.

I told my husband my dilemma while we were having lunch outside. Being the helpful husband that he usually is, he ordered citron-flavored soju for me and suggested that I try it. If I can take the taste of flavored soju, I don’t have to worry about staying away from alcohol the entire hwesik night.  It turns out that flavored soju is not as horrible-tasting for me as regular soju.

1

순하리 처음 처럼 유자 (Soonhari Chum Churum Yuja) means soft or mild citrus-flavored soju.

Flavored soju has an alcohol content of 14 percent, whereas regular soju contains 20 percent of alcohol (traditional soju is even higher at 40-45 percent), so if you are not a heavy drinker and you just want to make it out of hwesik alive, go for the flavored soju instead.  For the first time, I was able to have more than 5 shots of soju today without feeling queasy. Flavored soju still has that bitter aftertaste, but it’s overpowered by the sapidity of citron and it’s a bit sweet, more like a cocktail. I prefer real cocktails, of course, but it’s highly unlikely that they will serve cocktails during hwesik, so flavored soju will do.

Muhak, Korea’s third largest soju producer, came up with other flavors of soju. Besides citron, they also have pomegranate and blueberry, which I have yet to try.

Fruit-flavored soju, also known as mixju (mixed soju), has become more popular among women and young drinkers since the release of its pioneer, Lotte Liquor’s Soonhari, on March 20. According to Korea JoongAng Daily, Lotte Liquor is now selling 170,000 bottles per day, or two per second. Imagine that! ^^ Just like that time when honey butter chips became a food trend in Korea, flavored soju quickly turned viral. No wonder my Kakao Story was full of shares of photos of this new product for the past months. My husband and I don’t care much about food trends. Believe it or not, we don’t even like honey butter chips. Flavored soju, however, is a trend that we both appreciate, because now whenever there is a special occasion wherein I have to accept a glass of soju from a family member or a Korean friend, I don’t have to refuse the drink and embarrass the other person. I can just request for mixju.

Meanwhile, here is an awesome Soonhari ad:

6 thoughts on “Citron-flavored Soju, Anyone?

  1. Thanks for the link. I will try to look for it here. ^^

    Like

  2. I also like some of the flavoured alcohols but usually I prefer to settled for something simple. The mint flavoured booze from Finland even got its entry on Wikipedia in Korean🙂
    https://ko.wikipedia.org/wiki/%EB%AF%BC%ED%88%AC

    Like

  3. Wow, mint-flavored alcohol. I’d like to try that. I like minty drinks. In my country, there is this famous brand called Tanduay Ice. They have raspberry, pineapple and blueberry-flavored alcohol that I really love, which are somewhat similar to Korea’s mixju. The only difference is that with Tanduay Ice, there is no bitter aftertaste.

    Like

  4. Hi! I’m not sure if they sell it in Russia. If there is a Korean Town there, maybe you can find the product. It has just been released in Korea, so maybe you’ll have to wait a while before it becomes available in foreign/Korean stores in other countries.

    Like

  5. I wonder… Are they selling I to Russians also? I am form Russia and I see a lot of words written in Russian on the boards in the video and they are all describe the taste and smell… interesting…. While, here in US I haven’t seen the flavored kind. Citron taste sounds good. Maybe in H Mart in Chicago they have flavor soju. I want to try it..🙂

    Like

  6. Not that I have tried Soju yet however in most countries they have flavored booze. For example in Finland liquorice and mint flavored booze is very popular. Then there is ofcourse also different beers with some flavors such as banana or cherry!
    I do not like myself any “hard” alcohol, I prefer to have a few beers and that enough or a nice white wine🙂

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^

