From Korea with Love

"I carry your heart with me… always."

Just Say It

1 Comment

When I was a little girl, I would not go to bed without kissing my Mom good night and telling her “I love you.” At times, I would pick wild flowers and hand them to her while I say those three magic words. Sometimes, my sister and I, as well as some of my younger cousins, would make cards which read, “I love you, Mom” or “I love you, Dad,” even when there was no special occasion and we’d give those cards to our delighted parents. It has become a tradition in our younger days to say “I love you” in the most endearing ways we could think of.

I am a very expressive person. I am never too shy to tell my loved ones that I love them, and I always make it a point to let them know how much. When I was a child, my mom would always tell me: “I love you from the bottom of my heart.” It was a simple statement which we dutifully told each other, but because of those simple words, I felt deeply loved… no matter how many times I was scolded or spanked for doing something wrong.

As I was growing up, I said “I love you” less, but every now and then, (mostly on special occasions), I would say the words to people I care about.

heart

A simple card I made for my husband on our wedding anniversary… I posted it on the door for him to see when he comes home from work.

Love text

Sometimes, he sends me sweet text messages. It always makes me smile. ^^

Some people think that when you say “I love you” too much, the true meaning of the word diminishes, but I believe that the more love is expressed through words, the stronger it gets. If we truly love someone, we should not waste every moment of our life not letting the person know how we feel or time might pass us by. How many of us have lost a loved one, and wished we had told him that we love him when he was still around? How many of us had fallen in love and never made our feelings known until the chance had slipped away? How many of us wake up in the morning with our better-half by our side and not even kiss him good morning or say words of affection? How many of us have regular phone conversations with our parents who live far from us and not even once have we mentioned, “I love you” or “Thank you” just before we hang up the phone? How many of us have children who have never heard us tell them how much we love them, and yet it comes so easily to nag at them when they make mistakes?

My husband and I make it a point to exchange I LOVE YOU’s everyday: when we wake up in the morning, when he calls me from work at lunch time or before we go to bed. It fortifies our bond as husband and wife. It turns a bad day at work into a good one, and sometimes smoothes out misunderstanding or petty arguments between us.

When our hair turns gray and we are no longer the young “romantic” couple that we are now, I would still want to say, “I LOVE YOU” to the man I love, and hear the same words from him, too.

When we have children, I would like them to do the same thing, and not be ashamed to tell us:  “I LOVE YOU, MOM”… “I LOVE YOU, DAD”.

“When love speaks, the voice of all the gods make heaven drowsy with the harmony.”

[Love’s Labor’s Lost]” – William Shakespeare (1564-1616) English Poet, Playwright, Actor

One thought on “Just Say It

  1. I’m still learning from you, as I’m making my way to the top as well. I certainly love reading all that is posted on your site.Keep the posts coming. I loved it!

    Like

Tell me what you think... ^^